Chess at Museums in Udmurtia

Jul 17, 2019 at 16:11 • Sport

The Grand Finals of the 72nd Russian championship for men and the 69th Russian championship for women will take place between 9 and 23 August in the Udmurt Republic.

On 9 to 12 the competitions will be hosted by the Tchaikovsky House Museum in the city of Votkinsk, and on 13 to 23 August by the House of Friendship of Peoples in Izhevsk.

They are organized by the Russian Chess Federation and the Charitable Foundation of Еlena and Gennady Timchenko.

18 August is a social programme day, which is traditionally held as part of the Grand Finals of the Russian championship. Big-name grandmasters will offer multi-board chess sessions to youngsters and veterans; enthusiasts will rub shoulders with big names in chess and test themselves over the board.

The men’s Grand Final tournament will feature: Vladislav Artemyev (Republic of Tatarstan), Vladimir Fedoseyev, Nikita Vitiugov, Maksim Matlakov and Kirill Alekseyenko (St Petersburg), Dmitry Yakovenko (KhMAO [Khanty-Mansi Autonomous Okrug]-Yugra) and Yevgeny Tomashevsky (Saratov Oblast), Ernesto Inarkiev and Aleksandr Motylyov (Moscow), Aleksey Dreyev and Aleksey Sarana (Moscow Oblast), and Aleksandr Predke (Samara Oblast).

The women’s tournament line-up: Olga Girya (KhMAO — Yugra), Aleksandra Kosteniuk, Valentina Gunina, Alina Kashlinskaya, Daria Charochkina and Polina Shuvalova (Moscow), Alexander Goryachkina (YaNAO [Yamalo-Nenets Autonomous Okrug]), Natalia Pogonina (Saratov Oblast), Zarina Shafigullina (Republic of Tatarstan), Anastasia Bodnaruk (St Petersburg), Yelena Tomilova (Rostov Oblast) and Margarita Potapova (Krasnodar Krai).

The competitions are held on a round-robin basis in 11 rounds.

The prize money totals 10,000,000 roubles. The prize money guaranteed for the men’s competition is 6,500,000 roubles. The prize money guaranteed for the women’s competition is 3,500,000 roubles.

Also, the winners of the men’s and women’s tournaments will be given a Renault Arkana car.

Chief referee of the Grand Finals: Yelena Polovina, international arbiter/SSVK [Pan-Russian Umpire].

The tournament is sponsored by Renault Russia, PAO FGC UES and PAO PhosAgro. Logistics Sponsor of the Russian Chess Federation is the Russian Post Office.

The tournament is a sequel to the Chess at Museums programme, which the Russian Chess Federation has been running jointly with the Tmchenko Foundation since 2012.